Tags

, , , , ,

If you know anything about Reactive Attachment Disorder (now often called Developmental Trauma Disorder), you may know these kids often make false accusations against caregivers due to their inability to bond.

And, I guess, it is our turn.

Middle made some statements that were not accurate or truthful. He uses manipulative phrases like, “I feel like….happened.” For instance, “I feel like she tried to kill me and wanted me dead.” This is a literal statement he made for weeks last summer when he slipped on a rock while I was holding his hand to help him. He did NOT fall. He slipped but maintained balance. Yet, he accused me of trying to kill him and wanting him dead. Not kidding.

This time, his accusations aren’t against me. This shocks me. They are against my husband. But this time, due to a new school who has not researched his issues like I asked, they called social services and reported us for potential abuse.

I am angry. I am hurt. And I am scared.

My youngest who is so emotionally vulnerable all the time, always full of anxiety would not make it thru being separated from me for even a day. I cannot imagine if they would actually take him while investigating. My middle is a wild card. Who knows what he will say and when. He now realizes he has some power and can control things with his lies. It is terrifying right now.

I want to believe things will be ok. I want be able to trust the system to work. But having worked within this system for so many years, I know it is severely broken. And so, I am worried.

We brought this child into our home. We try to pour love on him and make him feel secure. His childhood trauma makes him believe parents cannot be trusted. We cannot fix that. All we can do is try our best. And now, we wait to see if the truth wins, or manipulation wins.

I am sad. I am scared. I am worried. And I am angry. I am trying to hold it together. I am not sure I can though.

This could go on for several months. MONTHS!

God help us…